Not-So New Year’s Resolutions (Actually More Like Suggestions)

New Year’s resolutions are destined to never be accomplished. It’s the contrived nature of the whole thing. “Let us begin doing the things we failed to do last year starting on this arbitrary day invented by our civilization. Yippee-ki-yay, mofos. We can do it!”

Happy Belated New Years

Yes, the idea of getting things done, trying new things, becoming a new you – they’re all made with good intentions (unless you’re a mentally unbalanced individual with plans to beat your own serial murder spree record). Yeah, we want to lose weight, go somewhere exotic, quit smoking, and change the world, etc., etc. But do we really want to? No, I mean do we really, really want to? Let’s be serious. You have a few extra pounds, but you love food (I know I do). You’re sick of your daily routine, but watching reruns of Friends on your comfy couch with a cup of earl grey is damn cozy. You want to quit smoking, but you’ve been doing it for 20 years already – why stop now? And you want to change the world, but the world is a damn large place. 

There are always excuses, which is why I was never keen on making new year’s resolutions for myself. I knew they would fail. I knew this because I didn’t really have my heart set on any of them. Plus, New Year’s is a terrible time to be thinking about what you want to do. Just live. Just be. Live and be in the present during New Year’s celebrations. Drink and love and screw around. If you are going to celebrate this arbitrary day, actually celebrate it! There is no difference between January 1st and any other day on our calendars. It’s just 2013. (Suck it, Mayan apocalypse freaks). We are time-obsessed. Yes, it’s good to think about changing. The next step is wanting to change. And then there is actually making the change. So don’t worry; be happy.

I’ve made a lazy list of things that I’ll (maybe) get around to this year (or next year). Who cares if I actually get them done? I don’t. We should never have to do anything we don’t want to do. So here are some things I might want to do before I kick the bucket (or not):

  • Actually get around to reading the books I buy. The Selfish Gene by Richard Dawkins, Cows, Pigs, Wars, and Witches: The Riddles of Culture by Marvin Harris, and The Etymologicon by Mark Forsyth are stacked on my desk. And those were just the books that were delivered last week. I need an intervention. Or I just need to read them. If only there were more hours in the day. (Hey, that reminds me of a new Mitch Albom book I saw at the bookstore the other day. Maybe I’ll get it. Maybe.)
  • Create a new word – not just open my mouth and spew out some vowels, consonants, and throw in a diphthong for the hell of it. Anyone remember that young adult book Frindle by Andrew Clements? It’s basically about a kid who makes up a new word for a pen: frindle. He sticks it to the man (or the woman – I think it was his cantankerous female teacher) by using the word in assignments. At the end, his teacher has come to respect the kid and sends him a dictionary with the newly added “frindle” in it. Yeah, kinda’ cheesy, but neologism sounds fun! So I want to establish a new word – and I’d like anyone reading to help. I’ll be posting about this new word soon and I’d love for it to gain some legitimacy… But that’s for another post. Moving on-
  • Play a song other than “Hey There, Delilah” on guitar. I started playing guitar, say, about 3 or 4 years ago. My practicing started out strong and then I plateaued, which I know is natural, but I also found it discouraging. So the only song I can play on that thing with anything approaching good skill is that Plain White T’s song from the radio a few years ago.
  • Figure out what the heck I want to do with my life. Just kidding. Screw it.

There you have it, a not-so New Year’s resolution suggestion list. Well, I feel accomplished today. Now to go back to watching Grumpy Cat videos.

What are your opinions on New Year’s Resolutions? Got any good ones? Bad ones?

16 thoughts on “Not-So New Year’s Resolutions (Actually More Like Suggestions)

  1. Pingback: Update: Three Weeks into the Academic Quarter… What the Hell Am I Doing? | Stressing Out College

  2. Pingback: Update: Jumping Past the A-Z Challenge (Because it’s My Birthday) | The Big Blog of All the Shit I Know

  3. Pingback: Update: A is for April Alphabet Month (In Which the Blogger Goes a Little Crazy) | The Big Blog of All the Shit I Know

  4. Pingback: Writing ’13 Instead of ’14 on My Papers ‘Cause I’m A Rebel… or Forgetful | Stressing Out College

  5. Pingback: New School Year Resolutions (That I May or May Not Keep) | Stressing Out College

  6. Pingback: Be My Valentine – or Not. Whatevs. | Stressing Out College

  7. Pingback: Midterm Stress Relief: Girly Magazines Are Girly (and Evil) | Stressing Out College

  8. Though I have’t always done this well, today I choose to focus on the good—both in the world and myself—to feel happy right now. How will you tune into happiness today?

  9. Sounds like you have some achievable ideas there! (except for the last one, that one takes a while to figure out and the journey to figure that out never quite ends for most!) If you are interested in making any changes this year or getting involved in some new things, I’ve found it helpful to think of making habit changes rather than goals. Also, focusing on one or two things or a few little things allows you to get a lot more done than having a list of more broad aspirations like “lose weight” or “eat healthier.” There’s a blog called “Zen Habits” that I really love that goes into more detail about that. Hope 2013 is a good year for us both!

    • Yes, definitely, habit changes are the way to go. Changing little by little. And who knows, maybe I’ll just lose interest in doing the things listed above and I’ll just go off in another direction – that’s the fun of it all.\

      Sending well wishes your way as well 🙂

  10. My New Year’s Resolution’s this year is to make actually make a list of New Year’s Resolutions. I haven’t made one in three years, and that time, all I had on my list was to get some new Pokemon game so I could brag it in front of my cousin’s face.

Drop Me A Line

