Midterm Stress Relief Week: Some Like It Lazy

To cap off Midterm Stress Relief Week, I felt it appropriate to end it with a bang.

I’m kidding. I’m phoning it in. Before going to bed, I watched my favorite movie Some Like It Hot, directed by Billy wilder and starring the sweetly sexy Marilyn Monroe, tall dark and handsome Tony Curtis, and golly gee funnyman Jack Lemmon. Two musicians, Joe (Curtis) and Jerry (Lemmon) witness a murder by a mob during Prohibition. Desperately fleeing for their lives, they pose as two female musicians, Josephine and Geraldine Daphne, and hit the road with an all-female band, including the alcoholic, ever-so-“innocent” Sugar (Monroe). Cross-dressing, innuendos, silly chase sequences – 1950s flavor humor ensues in this comedy classic and wraps up with the quirky, lovable, famous line “Well, nobody’s perfect.” The good old days of comedy gold. The cross-dressing was a bit of a risky move at the time, but boy did it pay off.

As of February 8, 2013, the full movie is still up on YouTube, so watch it now!

How have you been getting away from midterms? What do you like to do to relax? Are you a Marilyn fan?

5 thoughts on “Midterm Stress Relief Week: Some Like It Lazy

  1. Hey, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award, so you better dang take it! Sorry. Wait, why am I sorry?! I’m tired, as you can see.

    The Liebster Award is some blogging award for those with less than 200 followers. Do you have less than 200 followers? I think so.

    Sorry for my bouts of sarcasm and my contradictory speaking. Please ignore and follow the link below to answer questions about the award. I think it legit 0.o I googled it and it seemed fine.

    So, here ya go.

    http://keepingathought.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/just-what-is-the-liebster-award/

    Good luck, and have fun with the questions!

    BTW, about midterms, for high school, that is, I watched my failing grade in AP Chem midterms bring my grades to a C-, so it’s hard getting away from it when it’s haunting my dreams, ehe.

  2. Any exam week, for me, was BE AS AWESOME AS POSSIBLE week. I was one of those sorts that didn’t have to do too much work to excel in school, so I was rather flippant with my attitude towards school. I would go and shoot pool in the Life Center. Or visit the lake as many times as possible if the weather permitted. I would eat copious amounts of icecream, and watch every DVD I owned 17 times so that I could avoid studying.
    And then the day of said exam I would run around with my arms in the air, flailing, as I tried to remember anything from class and pray that sleeping on my textbooks would provide an opportunity for me to absorb my information.

    I graduated with honors, so I think it worked.

    I hope your midterms went/are going well!

    • Haha, that sounds like my kind of week! In recent years, I’ve learned not to stress out so much about events like midterms – it’s all going to he a-okay. It’s not a life or death situation. So good on ya for not stressing out so much!

      Thanks for reading 🙂

Drop Me A Line

