Final Examinations: The Intermissionary Position

Well, we have arrived at the middle of finals week. Here’s some intermission music for you while you read this post:

 


Yes, yes, you get it, I like Monty Python. Now let’s get on with it.

So you’re smack dab in the middle of finals week and you’re feeling down in the academic dumps. You feel your life force trickling away from your haggard body and emaciated mind. Maybe you’ve already completed a final or two and have one final paper to write until you’re free to frolic into the wide open arms of the winter holidays. In any case, hump day feels like slump day, you’re as mad as Hell and you’re not going to take it anymore.

I'm mad as Hell and I'm not going to take it anymore

We’re running out of f*cks to give!

Peace, my fellow students, peace. Your friend Stressed Out Student is here to help. Take an off day. So what, you have a final early tomorrow morning. Is an A+ really worth the sacrifice of that last sliver of insanity you have tucked away in that dwindling island of a happy place you have? No, of course not. What use is a college degree if you’re locked away in a madhouse muttering the periodic table of elements in between electroshock sessions? Right, no use whatsoever.

So take a breather, my friend. Do a little Christmas shopping (H&M was having a huge sale!), take a leisurely stroll around town (even if it is the coldest December on record), drop by your friendly neighborhood Church of Scientology, and make yourself a gargantuan kettle of tea.

Do something you’ve been meaning to do forever. Go see a movie or a play. Call up your friends. If you have no friends (like me), never fear, the Internet is your friend. Watch “Whose Line Is It Anyway?” clips with a container of your favorite finger snack. To hell with early morning finals. Cram the whole first season ofย Breaking Bad into your late evening/early morning before your test. Drink a couple Red Bulls and you’ll be good to go.

I am your best friend on the Internet. Would I ever steer you wrong?

Happy Finals Week, my friends. Stay sane(ish).

4 thoughts on “Final Examinations: The Intermissionary Position

  1. Hey. I guess there aren’t many things in life that are worth regretting but for some people finals are something that they would mind screwing up! Fortunately I don’t make that cut, or is it unfortunate- I don’t know; I have mixed feelings. Anyways, my finals get over in November so I somehow didn’t realize that yours would actually be in December, hence the last comment about sweet December, that aside best of luck for whatever you wish to accomplish this month and I hope you see it through to the end this time!
    P.S. Did you watch the new Sherlock interactive trailer. Well in case you haven’t already seen it my advice is please don’t. Its revealing, especially the interactive bit. Ciao. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I don’t have any finals, apart from one presentation which I did a couple of weeks ago. At my university we have January exams which I think are actually worse than finals because it means that in our first week back, we have to go straight into exams. Bleugh!

    I should be studying right now but all I’ve done this morning is write a blog post. Granted, said blog post is about one of the subjects I am studying but I don’t think it counts as studying!

    I was just about to ask whether you saw that Freshly Pressed post about Harry Potter and finals. But then I saw you linked to it on Twitter. Isn’t it brilliant? I read it again today just to cheer myself up. I am having an off day and I’m wallowing in it.

    Happy Finals Week!

    • Haha, the Harry Potter one was awesome. So perfect. I love when people use movies or tv shows to like that. Another good one is “Finals as told by Parks and Recreation” or something like that.

      And no finals? Lucky duck. But January exams? No envy there ๐Ÿ˜› Thanks for reading.

Drop Me A Line

