Midterm Stress Relief Week: Hi, I’m Vivian and This Is My Friend Tony

Kids of the 90’s, sing along!

“Take one box, put it with another – let’s look for one that’s long and wide…” 

The good old days. When all we little youngsters had to worry about were collecting pogs and playing Pokemon. But now, as responsible, boring “adults” – I use that term loosely – who have embarked on this great journey called “higher education,” midterms are upon us. But do not stress, fellow student! Dig yourself out from beneath your mountainous mounds of essays and short answer responses and de-stress yourself!

We don’t have to take the crap that midterms throw at us. Take up arms and rebel! And hipsters are awful, but I’m going to phrase it like this anyway: stressing out is too mainstream. So next week, I’ll be doing one craft or activity a day to relieve the stress from my sickly, desiccated mind. [That’s how the “Out of the Box” clip is relevant. Plus, that show was just awesome. Period.] So get out your smocks, glitter glue, and crazy scissors. It’s arts and crafts time, folks.

I haven’t made a plan of what I’ll be doing everyday (because to hell with plans), but my first craft will be making paper look old. It’s not a riveting, edge-of-your-seat kind of activity, but that’s part of the point. This is supposed to help relieve the tension and stress that midterms have throttled on my nerves.  It should be a week of zen. The end product should look really cool, but that’s if I manage not to screw it up. I’ll be documenting the steps and whether or not it turns out to be a glistening success or a piece of crap. Maybe this will be ironically stressful. If so, well, all the more to write about.

If you have any suggestions of things I should try to do or make, feel free to drop me a line! I’d love to hear your ideas.

So good luck with midterms, Happy Friday, and I’ll leave you with the “Goodbye Song” from “Out of the Box”:

While writing this post, I probably listened to the intro song about a dozen times (give or take a few). 

8 thoughts on “Midterm Stress Relief Week: Hi, I’m Vivian and This Is My Friend Tony

  1. Pingback: Final Examinations: The Intermissionary Position | Stressing Out College

  2. Pingback: Midterm Stress Relief Week: Some Like It Lazy | Stressing Out College

  3. Pingback: Midterm Stress Relief: Girly Magazines Are Girly (and Evil) | Stressing Out College

  4. Pingback: Midterm Stress Relief Week: House of Cards | Stressing Out College

  5. Pingback: Midterm Stress Relief Week: 1000 Cranes, Give or Take A Few | Stressing Out College

  6. Pingback: Midterm Stress Relief Week: Tea Bagging Paper With Class | Stressing Out College

  7. On rare occasions I also try doing something creative to deal with stress and I was planning on doing some of that again…after I finish a few assignments.
    And I really liked Out of the Box even though I started watching it when I was probably too old for it. It was the theme song, I always liked listening to it but now it just seems so different.

Drop Me A Line